The Energy Policy Dialogue at a glance 

During the autumn of every year since 2014 we have hosted the Energy Policy Dialogue (EPD). The aim of the event is to strengthen the dialogue between politics, business, science and society on themes relating to energy policy. We expressly support the climate-compliant design of the energy transition. We are convinced that gas and its infrastructure have a lot to offer when it comes to climate protection and will therefore play a decisive role in the future energy system.

Dr. Jörg Bergmann, Energy Policy Dialogue 2019

Shaping the energy transition with hydrogen!

Energy Policy Dialoge 2019  
on 5 September 2019 

The panellists were:

  • Dr. Jörg Bergmann (Chairman of the Board, Open Grid Europe GmbH)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart (Minister for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitisation and Energy)
  • Detlev Wösten (Member of the Executive Board of the H&R Group and Chairman of the VCI Nord)
  • Dr. Felix Matthes (Research Coordinator for Energy and Climate Policy at the Ökoinstitut and member of the WSB Commission)
  • Andreas Rimkus MP, (SPD, Member of the Bundestag Committee for Economics and Energy)

"Energy transition, please!"
... but who’s footing the bill?

Energy Policy Dialogue 2018
on 29 October 2018

The panellists were:

  • Thomas Jorberg, Chairman of the Executive Board GLS Bank, responsible for employee development, communication and development, overall bank management, active back-office, GLS Beteiligungs AG and GLS Energie AG
  • Professor Andreas Pinkwart, Minister for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitisation and Energy of North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Udo Sieverding, Head of the Energy Division and Member of the Management Board of the consumer watchdog Verbraucherzentrale NRW
  • Michael Wübbels, Deputy Managing Director, Head of the Energy Industry Department Verband kommunaler Unternehmen e.V. (VKU)
  • Dr. Jörg Bergmann, CEO of Open Grid Europe GmbH

Shaping the energy transition with intelligent sector coupling

Energy Policy Dialogue 2017
on 7 November 2017

The panellists were:

  • Dr. Jens Andersen, Volkswagen Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft, Group Representative for Natural Gas Mobility 
  • Christoph Dammermann, State Secretary of the Ministry of Economy of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW)
  • André Stinka, Member of the NRW state parliament and Spokesman for the Environment, Agriculture, Nature and Consumer Protection of the SPD state parliamentary group
  • Dr Carsten Voigtländer, CEO of Vaillant GmbH 
  • Dr Jörg Bergmann, CEO of Open Grid Europe GmbH

Make-or-break decision time for the energy transition – what will the elections in North Rhine-Westphalia and the national elections bring?

Energy Policy Dialogue 2016
on 26 October 2016

The panellists were:

  • Thomas Bareiß, Member of the Bundestag, Energy Commissioner of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group
  • Jochen Flasbarth, State Secretary, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Construction and Reactor Safety
  • Johannes Remmel, Minister for Climate Protection, Environment, Agriculture, Nature and Consumer Protection of North Rhine-Westphalia 
  • Michael Thews, SPD, Member of the German parliament 
  • Stephan Kamphues, CEO of Open Grid Europe GmbH

Energy policy year 2015 – a sea change or just a small step

Energy Policy Dialogue 2015 
on 21 October 2015

The panellists were:

  • Garrelt Duin, Minister of Economics, Energy, Industry, Small and Medium-sized Businesses and Crafts of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Dr Oliver Geden, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, Head of EU/Europe Research Group
  • Roger Kohlmann, Member of the General Executive Management Board of the German Association of Energy and Water Industries (BDEW)
  • Stephan Kamphues, CEO of Open Grid Europe GmbH

North Rhine-Westphalia: the natural gas hub for Germany and Europe!?

Energy Policy Dialogue 2014 
on 24 October 2014 

The panellists were:

  • Dietmar Brockes, MdL FDP, Member of the State Parliamentary Group in NRW, Spokesman for Economy, Industry and Energy
  • Dietmar Bückemeyer, Stadtwerke Essen AG, Technical Director, German Association of the Gas and Water Industry, President
  • Peter Franke, Federal Network Agency, Vice President
  • Jan Karl Karlsen, Statoil Deutschland GmbH, Head of Representative Office, Berlin
  • Oliver Krischer, MdB Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen, Deputy Chairman of the Parliamentary Group
  • Stephan Kamphues, CEO of Open Grid Europe GmbH